Annalise Murphy ahead

July 30, 2012

Annalise Murphy has won the two opening Laser Radial races to lead the class after day one.

Murphy won the first race by 15 seconds from Gintare Scheidt of Lithuania. She led the race from start to finish.

She then came from behind to win the second race. Belgian Evi Van Acker led at the first two marks, however, at that point Murphy assumed control, eventually winning by 45 seconds from the Belgian.

The two results mean that she leads the class after day one, with eight more races to come before the medal race.

Ireland’s Ryan Seaton and Matt McGovern finished fourth in the day’s first 49er race, and eigth in the second race. Those results leave them in sixth place overall.

The first race was won the French crew of Emmanuel Dyen and Stephane Christidis in a time of 29 minutes five seconds. Seaton and McGovern came home thirty seconds later.

The second race was won by the Australian crew of Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen. They clocked a time of 28:08, Seaton and McGovern came home 1:01 later.

James Espey finished in 38th place in the first Laser Class race of the day, 2:50 behind the winner Juan Ignacio Maegli Aguero of Guatemala.

In the second race of the day he came home 44th, 4:06 behind Australian Tom Slingsby. Espey lies 42nd overall.

In the Star class, Peter O’Leary and David Burrows finished 14th in the third race of the competition.

New Zealand’s Hamish Pepper and Jim Turner won the race in 1:11:19. O’Leary and Burrows were 1:31 adrift of that time. The Irish duo lie fifth overall.

Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council