IAAF Cross Country

November 9, 2012

Reigning European Cross Country Champion Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) will lead a strong Irish challenge at this weekend’s IAAF Cross Country International in Burgos, Spain. Britton kicked off her season three weeks ago with an impressive victory at the Gerry Farnam promotion. On Sunday she will face Linet Masai of Kenyan who has captured the silver medal at the last three World Cross Country Championships.

Britton’s major target this season will be the European Cross Country Championships in Budapest in December. She is hoping that an Irish women’s team can make a serious impact and perhaps chase medals at these Championships. “The team effort is what cross country is really about,” Britton said. “I am hopeful that we will be able to have a strong women’s team at the European Cross Country Championships. It is always harder to defend your individual title than to win it in the first place but I will be preparing for the race in much the same way as I did last year.”

Britton will be joined on the start line in Spain by Olympic marathon representative Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin AC) and Clonliffe Harrier AC athlete Sarah McCormack.

David McCarthy (West Waterford AC) will lead the Irish representative’s in the senior men’s race on Sunday. McCarthy will face a top quality field in Burgos which includes reigning World Cross Country Champion Imane Merga of Ethiopia. Michael Mulhare (North Laois A.C), Eddie McGinley (Annadale Striders) and Andrew Agnew (Abbey AC) will join McCarthy in the race.

Sean Tobin (Clonmel AC) is the sole Irish representative in the junior men’s race.


Irish Team

Senior women

  • Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC)
  • Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin AC)
  • Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC)


Senior Men

  • David McCarthy (West Waterford AC
  • Michael Mulhare (North Laois AC)
  • Eddie McGinley (Annadale Striders)
  • Andrew Agnew (Abbey AC)


Junior Men

  • Sean Tobin (Clonmel AC)
Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council