Sports Awards Evening

January 17, 2013

World number one golfer Rory McIlroy was crowned “Sports Star of the Year” at the 2012   Northern Ireland Sports Awards held at the Ramada Plaza Hotel on 14th January 2013.


Whilst Holywood’s top star won the coveted trophy, London 2012 Olympic medal winners Paddy Barnes, Alan Campbell, Peter Chambers, Richard Chambers and Michael Conlon, Paralympic gold medal winners Bethany Firth, Michael McKillop and Jason Smyth, boxer Brian Magee who became world champion in 2012, legendary jockey AP McCoy who rode to glory in the Gold Cup and Curtis Cup golfing star Stephanie Meadow completed an illustrious golden dozen of sporting greats.


Special Recognition Awards  were  presented to Olympic rowing heroes Alan Campbell and the Chambers brothers – Richard and Peter plus boxing sensations Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlon .  This award was presented by Olympic Council of Ireland Chief Executive and double Olympic Medalist Stephen Martin along with fellow Olympian Jimmy Kirkwood.


Michael Conlon also took away the prestigious George Best Breakthrough Award.



For more information on winners visit



Media contact: Rosemary Allister or Sarah Weir, JPR Tel 028 9076 0066 or mobile 07880 504928 or email



Editors’ Notes:

1. Sports Star of the Year –  Rory McIlroy

2. Hall of Fame  – Gerry Armstrong

3. Player of the Year  – Ryan Farquhar

4. Young Player of the Year – Bethany Firth

5. Team of the Year – Ulster Rugby

6. Young Team of the Year – St Oliver Plunkett FC U16

7. Manager/Coach of the Year  – PJ O’Mullan (Loughgiel Shamrocks)

8. Sports Person with a Disability – Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop

9. WJ ‘Paddy’ Patterson Award  – Ken Nixon 

10. George Best Breakthrough Award  – Michael Conlon

11. Special Recognition Award – Alan Campbell, Richard Chambers, Peter Chambers, Michael Conlon and Paddy Barnes

12. Local Heroes Award   – Fiona Haldane 

Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council