Athletics team for Berlin announced by AAI

August 4, 2009

Thomas Chamney, who beat rival David Campbell to the 800m title at the national championships in Santry at the weekend, is also included and will take part in the 1,500m in Germany as well – despite Campbell taking the that title ahead of him at the Morton Stadium.

Wicklow’s Deirdre Byrne, who won 1,500 metres in 4.25.41 at the weekend, Deirdre Ryan of Dundrum (high jump) and fellow Dubliner Michelle Carey (400m hurdles) are named after achieving the B-standard.

South African-born Alistair Cragg of Clonliffe Harriers will travel after winning the men’s 1,500m.

Joanne Cuddihy and Sligo’s Mary Culllen are both omitted because of study obligations and injury respectively.

Athletics Ireland Team 

Olive Loughnane (Loughrea AC) 20k Walk

Robert Heffernan (Togher AC) 20k Walk

Paul Hession (Athenry AC) 200m

Derval O’Rourke (Leevale AC) 100m H

David Gillick (Dundrum South Dublin) 400m

Roisin McGettigan (Sli Chulainn AC) 3,000m Steeplechase

Alistair Cragg (Clonliffe Harriers) 5,000m

Eileen O’Keefe (Kilkenny City Harriers) Hammer

Jamie Costin (West Waterford AC) 50k Walk

Colin Griffin (Ballinamore AC) 50k Walk

Deirdre Ryan (Dundrum South Dublin) High Jump

Deirdre Byrne (Sli Chualinn AC) 1,500m

Michelle Carey (Dublin Striders AC) 400m H

Thomas Chamney (Crusaders AC) 800m / 1,500m

PG Samsung Visa Panasonic Omega GE Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website