Britton leads Cross Country Team

November 26, 2012

Defending European Champion Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole AC) will lead the Irish Team at the 19th European Cross Country Championships which takes place in Budapest, Hungary on the 9th of December.

The Wicklow athlete’s preparation for these championships has gone exceptional well, she finished 4th in the very competitive VIII Cross de Atapuerca in Burgos, Spain earlier in the month. She continued her preparations with a third place finish in a classy field in the Cross de l’Acier at the weekend.

Also joining Britton on the senior women’s team is Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC), Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC), Linda Byrne (Dundrum South Dublin AC) and Sarah Louise Treacy (Moynalvey AC).

Joe Sweeney (Dundrum South Dublin AC) has been rewarded with a place on the team following his performance at the Woodies DIY Inter County Cross Country National Championships which took place in Ratoath, Co Meath last Sunday. The strongly built DSD runner stormed to victory, crossing the line 39 seconds clear of Michael Mulhare (Portlaoise AC), who has also been named in the team.

Sweeney finished a magnificent fifth place last year at the European Championships; he will be joined on the team by David Rooney (Raheny Shamrock AC). Rooney recently placed seventh at the prestigious NCAA, Brendan O’Neill (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF) and Brian Maher (KCH AC) complete the line up for the senior men’s team.


Teresa McDaid Team Manager said “We have solid teams competing at this year championships with chances of quality performances at junior and senior level. For many of our juniors this is their first year competing in this age category and they will be looking to gain experience from this competition.”

2012 Euro Cross Team as follows:
Senior Women
Fionnuala Britton(Kilcoole AC)
Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC)
Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin)
Linda Byrne( Dundrum South Dublin)
Sara Treacy (Moynalvy AC)
Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC)

Senior Men
Joe Sweeney (Dundrum South Dublin)
Michael Mulhare (Portlaoise AC)
Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham AC)
Brian Maher (KCH AC)
David Rooney (Raheny Shamrock AC)
Brendan O’Neill (Dundrum South Dublin AC)

U23 Women
Una Britton (Kilcoole AC)
Laura Behan (KCK AC)

U23 Men
Chris Johnston (Letterkenny AC)
Dave Fitzmaurice (Clonliffe Harriers)
Patrick Hogan (Ferrybank AC)
Sam Mealy (Crusaders A.C)
John Travers (Donore Harriers)
Shane Quinn (Ferrybank AC)

Junior Girls
Siofra Clerigh Buttner ( Dundrum South Dublin)
Linda Conroy (Mullingar Harriers)
Mary Mulhare (Portlaoise AC)
Claire McCarthy (Dundrum South Dublin)
Sara Collins ( Finn Valley AC)
Mary Ann O’Sullivan (Tinryland AC)

Junior Men
Stephan Kerr (Armagh AC)
Ian Guiden (Clonliffe Harriers)
Sean Tobin (Clonmel A.C.)
Killian Mooney (Dundrum South Dublin)
Eoghan Totten (Newcastle AC)

Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council