Irish Swim Team named

June 15, 2011

Swim Ireland will be sending six swimmers to the World Championships in Shanghai, China, including a women’s 4×200 metres relay squad to the week-long meet which gets under way on Sunday, July 24th.

The six swimmers are , Barry Murphy, Gráinne Murphy, Melanie Nocher, Sycerika McMahon and Clare Dawson, while Chris Bryan will compete in the five and 10 kilometre open water competitions.

The qualification process for Irish swimmers consisted of two Irish domestic qualifier events during the year, the Dave McCullagh Memorial in February and Irish Long Course Nationals in April.

Gráinne Murphy, the 2010 European 1,500 Silver medallist had already qualified for the worlds last year.

Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council