National Swimming Championships

April 29, 2013

Sycerika McMahon who confirmed that she will be heading to Texas next year on a scholarship, kicked off the final day of action at the Carlton Irish National Swimming Championships putting a sixth national title to her name.  McMahon (2:15.60) finished behind Hungary’s Katinka Hosszu (2:11.84) in the Women’s 200m Individual Medley but picked up the title of National Champion to add to the 400m Individual Medley, 100m, 200m and 400m Freestyle and 200m Butterfly she had already won over the weekend.


Tallaght and NAC Performance Centre swimmer Brendan Hyland added a fourth Irish title to his collection, he finished 2nd in the 200m Individual Medley in a new Irish Junior Record time of 2:05.77 and then went on to set a New Irish Junior and Senior Record in the 100m Butterfly Final to win Gold.  Hyland’s time of 54.50 knocked .17 off Steven McQuillan’s 2009 Senior Record.


Fiona Doyle added the 200m Breaststroke title to the 100m she won yesterday where she set a new Irish Senior Record and went under the qualification time for the World Championships in July.  Doyle’s time of 2:31.34 was well ahead of Scotland’s Emily Jones (2:38.09) who touched for Silver.


The Men’s 50m Backstroke final was the race of the night with Bangor’s Jordan Sloan (27.47) just getting to the wall .01 of a second ahead of David Prendergast of Kilkenny (27.48). Jane Roberts retained her Irish title in the women’s event claiming Gold in 30.50.


Shauna O’Brien (1:01.66) of UCD added the 100m Butterfly title the 50m Butterfly she won yesterday. O’Brien was the first Irish swimmer home but it was Katinka Hosszu who touched first once again in 59.19.


Curtis Coulter rounded off the night and these championships with a new Irish Junior Record and win in the men’s 50m Freestyle. The Ards SC swimmer knocked .32 off the previous record held by Conor Leaney.

Newbridge Silverware Logo (3)_to use on website_s PG Samsung   Visa Panasonic LeadershipTrust Omega GE   Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website Irish Sports Council