EOC ANOC EYOF Erzurum 2017 EYOF Gyor 2017 Buenos Aires 2018

Olympic Torch Relay Ready To Go! Route, Names and Timings

June 5, 2012


Olympic Torch Relay Route and timings:

Torchbearer Road Name Approx Time
Cillian Kirwan Howth 8
Henry Shefflin Croke Park Jones Rd Entrance to Fitzgibbon St 9.35
Brian Brunton Fitzgibbon Street to Mountjoy Square North 9.40
Robbie Lyons Mountjoy Sq. Nth to Junction Hill St/ Denmark St 9.43
Aaron Fallon Junc. Denmark St/Hill St to Garden Of Remb. 9.46
Michael Carruth Garden of Rememberance to Cathal Bruagh Street 9.50
John Grimes Cathal Bruagh Street to GPO O’Connell Street 9.54
Edward Grimes Cathal Bruagh Street to GPO O’Connell Street 9.54
Aine Holden GPO O Connell Street – Marlborough Street 9.58
Shane Horgan Marlborough Street to CHQ Building Custom House Quay 10.01
Anne Ebbs CHQ Building Custom House Quay to Common Street 10.04
Lee Kinsella Custom Hse, Quay/ Commons St to Mayor St 10.07
Olivia O’Toole Mayor Street to Seville Place 10.10
Lauren Lawless Seville Place to Guild St before junc Mayor St 10.13
Bernard Brogan Guild St before junc. Mayor St to S. Beckett Bridge 10.16
Paul McGrath Samuel Beckett Bridge to Grand Canal Theatre 10.19
Mark Pollock Grand Canal Theatre to Clarence Place/Macken St 10.22
Gareth Myhal Clarence Place/Macken St to Junc Lr Grand Canal St 10.25
Aine Costello Junc Lr Grand Canal St to Hogan Place/Holles St Junc 10.28
Joan Freeman Holles Street /Hogan Place Junc to Merrion Square East 10.31
Irial Finan Merrion Sq East to Junc Baggot St Lr/Lr Fitzwilliam St 10.33
Anthony Sutherland Baggot Street Lr Junc to Upper Fitzwilliam St 10.37
John Collins Fitzwilliam Street Upper to Leeson Street Bridge 10.40
Edward Byrne Leeson Street Bridge to Dartmount Walk/ Canal Road 10.43
Niamh Reid-Burke D.M Walk / Canal Road – Canal Road After Ranelagh Rd Junc. 10.47
Alva Nolan Canal Rd to Grove Rd East after Rathmines Rd Junc 10.50
Gillian Garrett Grove Rd East to Grove Road Middle 10.53
Ger Keelan Grove Road Mid. To Junc. Harold Cr. Rd / Clansbrassil St 10.56
Mubarak Habib Clanbrassil Street Upr. To South Circular Rd Junc 10.59
Denis Hickie Sth Circular Rd to Lr Clanbrassil St/ Donavan Lane Junc 11.02
Karl Flood Lr clan. St/Donavan Lane to New St South/ Fumbally Lane 11.05
Gary O’Brien New St Sth / Fumbally Lane to Patrick St / Bull Alley St Junc 11.08
Mark Kenneally Patrick St /Bull Alley St to Christchurch Pl (Jury’s Hotel) 11.11
Pamela Lacken Christchurch Place (Jury’s) to Parliament St Junction 11.14
Kenneth Egan Parliament Street Junct to- Dame Street /Trinity St Junc 11.17
John Treacy Dame Street/ Trinity St Junc – Nassau Street/ Dawson St 11.20
Natalya Coyle Nassau St /Dawson St Junc /Nassau St / Kildare St Junc. 11.23
Ruby Walsh Nassau St /Kilare St Junc / Clare St Merrion Sq West Junc 11.26
Ronald Delany Merrion Square West Junc to Government Buildings 11.29
Bridget Taylor Government Buildings via Ely Place to St Stephens Green 11.37
Sonia O’Sullivan St. Stephens Green 11.40

The Olympic Council of Ireland (OCI) has announced final details of the historic Olympic Torch Relay taking place next Wednesday morning, June 6th in Dublin.

Forty torch bearers will wend their way through the city’s street from 9.30am approx, starting at Croke Park (Jones’ Road entrance) and finishing up at the Olympic Stage in St. Stephen’s Green at 11.30am.

Prior to the Dublin City run, the Olympic Torch will be greeted in Howth by President Michael D Higgins at 7.40am in the company of school children from the area and many representatives of civic and sporting organisations.

Croke Park will be the scene of a spectacular Skyline walk by legendary hurler Henry Shefflin. Henry will parade the Olympic Torch around the recently opened Skyline attraction and will then take the torch on the first leg of the Relay, moving off from Croke Park at 9.15am.

The Torch Relay then runs around the city, taking in O’Connell St. (Spire), Eden Quay, Custom House, IFSC, Sheriff St., Beckett Bridge, Holles St., Fitzwilliam Sq., Leeson St. Bridge, Grand Parade, passing bridges on the Grand Canal before crossing Harold’s Cross Bridge, into Clanbrassil St., Patrick St., Christchurch, Dame St., Trinity College, Nassau St., Clare St., Upper Merrion St., Ely Place, Hume St., St. Stephen’s Green – finishing at the Bandstand at 11.30am approx.

Among the many notable torch bearers will be Ronnie Delany, John Treacy, Jedward, Bernard Brogan, Denis Hickie, Paul McGrath, Kenny Egan, Bridget Taylor (mum of boxer Katie Taylor), Shane Horgan and Ruby Walsh.

An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, will greet the Torch at Government Buildings on Upper Merrion Street at 11.15am approx

Lord Mayor Andrew Montague, on behalf of the people of Dublin will be among those greeting Sonia O’Sullivan who will light an Olympic cauldron on the Olympic Stage in St. Stephen’s Green to commemorate the event

Among the many VIPs attending the Dublin Relay are Sir Craig Reedie, representing the International Olympic Committee in Lausanne.

Pat Hickey, President of the Olympic Council of Ireland said: “The Olympic Torch Relay will bring the spirit of the London Games to Dublin and starts the countdown for the Irish team’s challenge at the world’s biggest sporting event.

“It has taken many, many months of lobbying at the highest international levels to get the permission required to bring the Relay south. All along, we have had the full support of Lord Sebastian Coe for this move”, he said.

Lord Mayor of Dublin Andrew Montague said “The Olympic Torch Relay in Dublin offers us in Dublin a wonderful opportunity to share in the London 2012 experience. On June 6th Dublin will become the only city outside of Greece and the UK to host the Olympic Flame. This is a huge honour and I call on all Dubliners to come out on the streets and cheer our torch bearers in what will be a great day for Dublin.

“Congratulations to all those chosen to be torch bearers and to all the agencies who have worked so hard to bring the Olympic Torch Relay to Dublin – The Olympic Council of Ireland, Dublin City Council, the Dept. of Transport, Tourism & Sport, Office of Public Works, the sponsors, An Garda Siochana, GAA, Fingal Co. Council, Dublin Bus and the British Embassy”, he added.

Minister of State for Tourism & Sport Michael Ring said: “This is a truly historic day for Ireland. Today we bring the Olympic spirit into the heart of our capital city, in front of a global audience. I can’t think of a better way to mark the imminent departure of our Olympic team to Britain, and to wish them every success in the London Olympic Games”.

FBD Insurance logo <McKeever Sports logo Circle K LogoIndeed Logo
PG Samsung Visa Panasonic Omega GE Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website