EOC ANOC EYOF Erzurum 2017 EYOF Gyor 2017 Buenos Aires 2018

Olympic Medallists Presented with Unique Lapel Pins at Ceremony in Mansion House

May 7, 2013

Ireland’s Olympic Medallists from the London 2012 Games were presented with their International Olympic Committee (IOC) lapel pins at a special ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House today (May 7th).


Gold medal winner Katie Taylor led the recipients and received her Olympic Lapel pin from IOC Executive Board member Pat Hickey in the presence of guest of honour, London 2012 Games Chairman Lord Sebastian Coe.


Every Olympic Medallist receives an additional award apart from an Olympic Medal. It is a very special lapel pin in the appropriate gold, silver, and bronze versions.


Each pin is unique to the medallist and has its own exclusive serial number, one which is registered at the International Olympic Committee’s headquarters in Switzerland.


Today’s recipients were: Katie Taylor (gold pin), John Joe Nevin (silver pin), Paddy Barnes (bronze pin), Michael Conlon, Cian  O’Connor (bronze pin)


The ceremony was attended by many personalities including the Lord Mayor of Dublin Naoise O’Muiri, Minister of State for Tourism and Sport Michael Ring T.D., and the British Ambassador Dominick Chilcott.


Speaking this afternoon, Minister Michael Ring TD said: “Every Olympic Games throws up moments of high drama and the London 2012 Olympic Games did not disappoint with many highlights that will live forever in the memory.  We are all very proud of our Olympic medallists.  Each of you contributed your part to another great chapter in the history of Irish Olympic sporting successes.  I am delighted that your achievements are being honoured today.”


Following the ceremony, Lord Coe travelled to the headquarters of the Olympic Council of Ireland in Howth where he unveiled a sculpture, created by Donegal Artist Paul Ferriter, to commemorate the arrival of the Olympic Torch in Dublin almost a year ago.


Lord Coe, in his current role as chairman of the British Olympic Association (BOA), also signed a co-operation agreement between the BOA and the Olympic Council of Ireland and made presentations to Irish Olympic Gold Medal legends Ronnie Delany and Michael Carruth.


From left, Pat Hickey, President, Olympic Council of Ireland, Lord Coe, Chairman, British Olympic Association, Michael Conlon, Katie Taylor, Cian O’Connor, Paddy Barnes, Michael Ring T.D, Minister of State with responsibility for Tourism and Sport, and Lord Mayor of Dublin, Naoise Ó Muirí





from left, British Ambassador to Ireland Dominic Chilcott, Pat Hickey, President, Olympic Council of Ireland, Michael Ring, T.D., Minister of State with responsibility for Tourism and Sport, Lord Coe, Chairman, British Olympic Association and Cllr. Cian O’Callaghan, Lord Mayor of Fingal



FBD Insurance logo <McKeever Sports logo Circle K LogoIndeed Logo
PG Samsung Visa Panasonic Omega GE Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website