Sochi 2014 Opening Ceremony

February 7, 2014

This evening Friday 7th February millions of people all over the world will be able to witness the XXII Olympic Games Opening Ceremony. Team Ireland will be 29th in the parade of the 88 Nations taking part. Greece will enter first and the host Nation Russia will be last to enter the Fisht Stadium.


Overall 98 medals are to be won during 16 days of competition, with 2,900 athletes taking part in 15 disciplines. The opening ceremony begins at 20:14 local time (16:14 GMT)


Team Ireland Chef de Mission Stephen Martin, Flag bearer Conor Lyne , athletes Jan Rossiter, Florence Bell, Sean Greenwood, and Seamus O’Connor, together with physio Aidan Woods, coaches Alain Untergssmair, Sam Wilkinson, Petr Jakl, and Shane O’Connor will take part in the ceremony.Seamus O’Connor and coachSam Wilkinson will leave the ceremony after the parade of Nations due to the fact that they have the semi final of slopestyle on the 8th February.


PG Samsung Visa Panasonic Omega GE Coca Cola Atos DOW_logo for website